One Week Til Book Launch

I’m on pins and needles waiting for April 19, 2011. That is the official release date for my first book for young readers. Four days later is the Book Launch and Book Signing at Franklin Park Arts Center in Purcellville,VA .  Please come if you can.

I’ve done book signings before. I’ve spent hours sitting at a table in a book store or  at a local event looking hopeful as people glanced in my direction and then just as quickly moved on while trying to pretend they didn’t see me.  I know that unless you already have a following people do not line up in advance, multiple copies of your book in hand, eager to meet the author. Still, I hope for a good turnout.

I’ve done a lot of blatant self promotion this time. The main character in the book, Storee Wryter, has a Facebook page, a twitter site and her own blog.  I’ve distributed posters in local venues, printed flyers and walked through the development where I live putting them in mailboxes, “Free Family Friendly Event,”  it says along with information on date and time and how to get there.  I have sent an Evite to over 100 friends, family members, and colleagues. The publisher is issuing a press release and I’m saying a lot of prayers too. 

I have to admit that praying for a good turnout at a book signing seems a tad wrong to me. After all, it will occur on the day before Easter; one of the holiest days of the year for Christians (including me). But, knowing that doesn’t stop me. This book has been in the works for a long time and I truly believe it’s  a valuable part of my mission to inspire and mentor creative kids. That’s doing God’s work isn’t it? And if so it’s  alright to pray for success, isn’t it?

Who am I kidding? My ego is as every bit as much behind my zeal to see a large turnout as furthering my work with creative kids. I want a good turn out so I can sell the book.  The number of book sales is how writer’s are judged. Every writer I know, including me, longs to see the words best-selling author after his or her name.  I also  know that doesn’t happen in a day. Even if the book launch is a success I still have a lot more work to do to get Storee Wryter Gets A Dog into the hands of reviewers and on the shelves in book stores and gift shops and, more important, into the hands of kids ages 8-10. I want them to  see how someone their own age finds inspiration for her future best sellers in the things that happen in her everyday life.

Teachers are invited to come and to register to win a free author visit to their school. So, even if you have other plans for April 23rd from 1:00 -3:00 PM or if you are too far way to attend, please tell your friends about it and encourage them to stop by. In lieu of tha,t everyone is invited to visit Storee’s website and order a copy as a gift for a special child in his or her life.

Wish me luck.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “One Week Til Book Launch”

  1. clarbojahn Says:

    I wish i hadn’t waited this long to get a copy for my grand son who will be visiting this week. I will see you at the book launch with book in hand. You did a great job.

  2. clarbojahn Says:

    Looking it up again, I see I can’t get it yet because it hasn’t been released yet. It would still take two or three weeks to get it. Guess I’ll wait then. I read it in the library. We can still write our stories.

Leave a Reply

