Unless You’re Already Famous We Won’t Take It

“There is definitely an audience for a book like this,” the agent said upon hearing my pitch. “But unless you’re already famous a large agency won’t touch it.  I suggest you start sending it out to small presses.”

Since that day I haven’t done anything with the book. My intention at the time was to refine it and send it out. Then  my father-in-law, the subject of the book titled Confessions of an Inadequate Caregiver, began to fail and all of my time was devoted to his care.  Then he died and the book still sits needing all the care and attention I once gave him. I have many excuses as to why I haven’t done anything with it.

It’s too painful to relive the experiences we shared as his mind failed  and his body withered before my eyes.

 I’m too busy with other projects.

What if it’s not as good as I believe it is?

I still think  those things but I have to admit that the voice I hear whispering in my mind most often repeats these words, “Unless you’re already famous we won’t take it.” Then I look at some of the books that are published simply because someone has a recognizable name and I am filled with envy. Many of them never intended to write a book until an agent came calling, ghost writer already in mind.

Not fair! I whine to my writer’s group and all agree for they share the dream and self-doubt inherent in many emerging writers. I’ll get past this feeling. I’ve done it before and I’ll do so again.  For today, I provide you with a short list of authors who never had to query a small or university press  because they were already famous.

 If you have a book to add to the list send it to me in a reply.  I’ll post the results on April 1st.

Paris HiltonConfessions of an Heiress: A Tongue-in-Chic Peek Behind the Pose

Justin Bieber – First Step 2 Forever

NeNe Leakes – Never Make the Same Mistake Twice

Meghan McCain -My Dad, John McCain  Now come on.  Despite what she does now I have to ask,  “A children’s book about John McCain. Really?”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Unless You’re Already Famous We Won’t Take It”

  1. diamondpublicationz Says:

    First of all I wanna say a heartfelt apologies for you going thru what you did with your father-in-law.

    Also I honestly cannot believe they said that to you. It’s crazy! None of those celebrities deserve books. They really don’t deserve it. But I agree with you I will every once in awhile feel envious but I use it for motivation cause I really can’t see myself doing anything else.

    Keep writing. I wish you the best in your endeavors. And thanks for the trackback!

  2. schizophrenicwriter aka Bobbi Carducci Says:

    Thanks for the comment and the kind words. As for the trackback, one writer helping another is what I do in addtion to writing.

    take a peek at this site for more about me, if your’e interested. http://www.communityvoicemedia.com/bobbicarducci.html

Leave a Reply

