“Mom, I’m So Into This Book”

While in Florida last week I gave a copy of my book, Storee Wryter Gets a Dog, to my niece, Madison.  She’s  bright and beautiful and she likes to read.  Knowing that kids are brutally honest I held my breath waiting for my first official critique from my intended audience.  After five days I couldn’t stand the suspense and sent an email to her mother.

Subject: Did Madison like Storee? Message: Since she is in the age range of my target audience I sure hope so. Love, Bobbi

This is her response: 

“It’s funny you email me today.  She was reading it while I drove her to the bus stop this morning and said “Mom, I’m so into this book”  Kudos to you Bobbi.   She was bringing the book to her teacher this morning with a note that explained who the author is and that I wanted to touch base with her about the Author coming to the class room.  I am hoping her and I can meet early next week.

Also, I showed the book to my servers that have children all around Madison’s age and I expressed to them about a possible book signing event here at the Diner and they where thrilled.  I also mentioned this future event to our sales rep that has twin girls that are 8 years old and a few of my customers that I know have children and grandchildren.  I’m drumming up curiosity and interest, everyone stated to let them know when the date will be and they will be here.I’ll be in touch with you, Love Pam.”

Thrilled I logged off my computer and left the house to run an errand. I was barely out of my neighborhood when I started to cry.

Why? Because it has taken years to get this book published and the characters of Storee and her cat, Critique, mean so much to me.  But most of all because the words “Mom, I’m so into this book” are priceless. Today, in this moment, I am a success.

 Some of my favorite books for kids are:

Bees in My Butt by Rebecca Shelley

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney (mentioned in Storee Wryter Gets a Dog)

For Boys Only: The Biggest, Baddest Book Ever by Marc Aronson

Earth Smart Crafts by Carrie Anton

Thanks to Tank by Maureen Howard

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to ““Mom, I’m So Into This Book””

  1. Aligaeta Says:

    “Mom, I’m so into this book” Is the greatest compliment!
    Best wishes to you and thank you for the pingback : )

  2. schizophrenicwriter aka Bobbi Carducci Says:

    You are very welcome. Thank you for the comment. I was doing my Snoopy Happy Dance in the kitchen once the tears dried. (Grin)

  3. M Schizophrenic Says:

    […] “Mom, I'm So Into This Book” « The Schizophrenic Writer She was reading it while I drove her to the bus stop this morning and said “Mom, I'm so into this book” Kudos to you Bobbi. She was bringing the book to her teacher this morning with a note that explained who the author is and that I . […]

Leave a Reply

