SURVIVING ISABEL

A Shocked Woman and a Tornado Forming In the Sky - Royalty Free Clipart PictureWe’ve been listening to the warnings all week and taking heed. She’s a major force, this one. Not quite as stormy as when she started out but still puffed up enough to wreak havoc on our little home. We prepare as best we can. The pantry bulges with canned goods and extra supplies, the icemaker is running on overtime and we have lots of candles and extra toilet paper.

“Kids, you aren’t going to be able to play with your X-Box for a few days. Go find the monopoly board and bring in your bikes, leaving them out in the driveway is just asking for trouble.”

I cast a worried glance at Mike. He’s been busy all morning, hoping for the best, preparing for the worst. Sighing, he braces himself and winks at me. We resolve to get through this together, clean up any debris left behind and carry on.

“She’s coming, she’s coming”, the kids yell, their voices strained by excitement and tension. I see her moving up the driveway under a full head of steam. Feeling brave, I open the door to face her head on. From behind me, I hear Mike’s voice.

“Hi, Mom….. Come on in. So glad you could come.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “SURVIVING ISABEL”

  1. Linda Ealy Says:

    Bobbi,

    I LOVE IT!

    My fear, or maybe my hope, is that I am given as much respect as a tornado!!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

