Just Call Me Jerry

“What’s your blog about?” a recent acquaintance asked.

“Nothing,” I replied.

“Who’d want to read a blog about nothing?”

“I hope a lot of people.”

“You’re nuts,” he said.

“Schizophrenic actually,” I agreed.

Seeing the look of shock on his face I decided I better explain.

“I’m not schizophrenic my writing is.”

“Okay …”

“When I say that I mean I write a lot of different things in many different forms depending on what the voices in my head (my muse) have to say.

I write short stories, memoirs, feature columns, book reviews, creative nonfiction, this blog, and I have a book for young readers coming out in the next few months. I don’t have a particular platform or theme other than the fact that I’m a writer and writers write. I never know when or where something or someone will capture my attention and inspire me.

Sometimes it happens instantaneously. I refer to that as the, I Came, I Saw, I Wrote phenomenon. Far more often an idea comes to me in the moment and then fades away for a while as I continue to concentrate on my work in progress. Some ideas bide their time for awhile then prod me awake and start nagging me incessantly. Once that happens I have no choice but to listen to the voice and begin to write. Some of my best and all of my worst ideas begin that way. That’s why in addition to the stuff I share with my readers I have a lot of unfinished pieces in my files and a number of rejection letters I’d rather not talk about.

“So your blog  …”

“Can be about anything,” I interrupted.

“Just like the series of shows on Seinfeld where Jerry and George Costanza pitched their TV show idea to network executives. When asked what it was about they always answered, “It’s about nothing.”  By refusing to limit their subject matter they were free to write about everything from standing in line for a table at a Chinese restaurant to spoofs of the Zapruder film and the so called magic bullet that wounded Texas Governor, John Connally, when President John Kennedy was assassinated.

“Okay, now I get it,” he said. “That might be interesting. Email me the blog address and I’ll take a look at it now and then.”

“Here’s my card. The URL is on there. Let me know what you think.”

For the writers out there: If you can’t think of anything to write about, why not join me and Jerry Seinfeld and write about nothing. You never know when it might become a hit.

Photo by Alan Light

Leave a Reply

